Eastern European composers Dvořák, Janáček and Bartók travelled extensively, absorbing folk influences and imbuing their music with traditional forms. Nigel Osborne is one of the most travelled composers alive today whose thirst for foreign cultures has taken him all over the globe. In his piano trio The Piano Tuner, taken from his opera of the same name based on the intriguing  Daniel Mason novel about a piano-tuner sent to the Burmese jungle to tune a grand piano, Osborne explores the synthesis between Western and south-east Asian tuning in this powerful piece. 

Reinbert de Leeuw: Im wunderschönen Monat Mai

Bartók: Mikrokosmos (selection of movements)
Janáček: Dumka
Nigel Osborne: The Piano Tuner
Dvořák: Dumky Trio (Piano Trio No. 4 in E Minor)
Osborne: Adagio for Vedran Smailovic (not at Perth concert)

Sunday 11 February @ 3pm CatStrand, New Galloway

Monday 12 February @ 1pm Perth Concert Hall Book now

Tuesday 13 February @ 7.30pm Woodend Barn, Banchory Book now


Be Part of the Future of Music

Do you love new music? Do you enjoy playing an instrument or singing? Then join Hebrides Ensemble for a weekend of inspiring and surprising music-making in this unique celebration of the UK’s flourishing new music culture. As part of the Contemporary Music for All 2018 Festival, you will have the chance to rehearse and perform alongside Hebrides Ensemble musicians led by conductor and Hebrides Ensemble’s Artistic Director, William Conway and Violinist, James Clark.
Applications to take part in the weekend are invited from all instrumentalists and singers aged 16 or over and of grade 5 standard or above. The repertoire will include a new commission by Nigel Osborne for orchestra and choir and Nigel will join us for the world premiere performance of his new work. You can be part of it! All music will be available to prepare in advance.
Dates: Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th March 2018

Times: Saturday 3rd 10:00-13:00, 14:00-17:00; Sunday 4th 10:30-13:00, 14:00 -16:30, Concert 17:00-18:00

Venue: Stewart’s Melville College, Queensferry Road, Edinburgh EH4 3EZ

Fee: £45 full price, £25 unemployed, disability and student

An application form is available to download here


Innovation and determination are at the heart of contemporary music-making and for over a decade, CoMA has been doing just that – spearheading a new movement to help contemporary music reach new audiences through its ground-breaking Open Score project. Working directly with composers, they have created a rich library of innovative, flexibly-scored works playable by ensembles of all shapes and sizes, which now includes over 1,000 new works composed especially for the organisation. As Scotland’s foremost contemporary music ensemble, it’s an initiative that Hebrides Ensemble is proud to be involved with and we are delighted to announce that we will be flying the flag for Scotland at the 2018 CoMA Festival. 

Taking place over the weekend of 3rd and 4th March 2018 in cities across the UK and in Europe, the Festival will bring together new music-makers of all kinds, from amateur instrumentalists and community music organisations to professional orchestras including London Sinfonietta and Birmingham Contemporary Music Group. Join us as we celebrate and explore CoMA’s vast catalogue of repertoire, taking a selection of scores written specifically for flexible ensemble as the building blocks of our concert programme. This is an initiative that challenges the traditional relationship between composer, conductor and performer – a truly collective form of music-making.